Back to work

Back to work-

If you don’t know me, I am a planner. I have to have a game plan for everything.I mean everything. Don’t get me wrong, I can totally wing it, but only if winging it was part of the plan. One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned in the last year and a half is that no matter how solid your plan can be, if God has a different plan, His will win. Never in a million years did I think I would have to battle cancer and never in a million years would I have thought so much good could come from something so horrible. Trust me, it definitely wasn’t in the “plans”. Not my plans anyways.

This week is another example of a change of plans. Last week I returned to work as a travel agent and this week will be my first week back full-time. I went back full-time because right now my family needs the extra income to pay off debt and to help make ends meet. To say this return was bitter-sweet would be a total understatement. I am incredibly lucky to have a manager that thought enough of me to put up a fight to get me back, but on top of that the other ladies in the office were genuinely excited and relieved to see me return. It definitely made a hard decision a little easier. I am also lucky to have an incredible mother-in-law that thinks the world of my daughter and loves spending as much time with her as she can. It’s a huge relief on my heart to know she’s in great hands while I am unable to be there.

I feel silly to be so heartbroken over such a frivolous thing, but I am. I hate that I have to go back to work, but I refuse to sit back and watch my family collapse financially when I am healthy enough to step in and help. I know this isn’t the path I planned on walking down, but I have to trust that this path was necessary to lead me and my family in the direction of a better future.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Life After Cancer

One response to “Back to work

  1. Mon

    Well done for making the decision which I understand would be hard. In a former life (before children) I was also a travel agent. Ahh seems like ages ago. It sounds like your daughter is in great hands while you work, which is surely something that was in God’s plan too. A few years ago when our family needed me to be back at work and our first child was 13months old it broke my heart, but it got us to where we needed to be and our daughter was minded by both her grandmothers. She is now 8, unscarred by me having been at work full time and has an very special relationship with both of her grandmothers.
    All the best in starting back at work and settling in Nicole. Especially after everything you have been through.

Leave a Reply

