3 Year Anniversary and a Thank You <3

Tonight while cleaning my room I stumbled onto all of the mementos I kept from my cancer journey. I’ve bumped into them before, but it hasn’t been something that I’ve taken the time to sit down and read through since they found their home there in the beginning of my journey.

When life gets back to a fast pace it’s easy to forget just where you were in those terrifying moments. Simply reminding yourself where you’ve been and celebrating where you are now is refreshing for one’s soul. While reading through everything I felt several emotions. The biggest was a huge and very welcomed reminder and just how blessed and cared for I am. I was incredibly humbled while reading through the benefit guest book. There were over 180 signatures in it and I know several others were present as well as many that were unable to make it, but were still a very big part of my healing journey. THANK YOU. Thank you to each and every one of you. I know I’ve expressed it before, but even this long after, the gratitude that I feel inside makes my heart feel like it’s going to explode. I have so many angels looking out for me. Both up above and here on earth. I have no doubt that I am one VERY lucky girl with so much to be thankful for.

Another profound thought crossed my mind tonight: I am 3 years out from the time I was diagnosed and you know what… I am a week late on the anniversary. I wish I could say that means I don’t still think of cancer every single day, but it was kind of refreshing to realize that the 18th came and went without a single thought of that horrible, horrible day just 3 short years ago. Instead I spent time with family up in the mountains and watched a beautiful bride and friend of 8 years walk down the aisle. August 18th was a great day and I am looking forward to many more in the future.
<3 Nicole <3

2 Comments

Filed under Enjoying Life, Life After Cancer

2 responses to “3 Year Anniversary and a Thank You <3

  1. Julee

    Seems like it was a lot longer than 3 years ago! You are an angel to all of us and a great reminder how gratitude changes everything! Love you my friend!

  2. Michael Dawson

    It has taken me three years to say something to someone who has always been so kind to me. You always cared for me and gave me your prayers even when I wasnt deserving of them. I am not going to say I am sorry for my delay I am going to say thank you. Thank you for your story. Thank you for everything you are. Thank you for being so strong in one of your weakest moments, and showing us that through faith, love, and compassion there will always be a brighter tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

